My two weeks with Jordie – Part 3/3

After we came back from Hanoi/Ha Long Bay, Jordie had another week in Vietnam while I had to go back to work. That means Jordie spent most of his mornings/early afternoons cruising around on my scooter, going shopping, cooking for me (vegan of course 🙂 <3) and doing some touristy stuff like visiting the Cu Chi tunnels. Actually there’s not that much to tell apart from the fact that it was wonderful having him back in my every day routine and that it was very hard for me letting him go again. But I didn’t have much time to mourn because I dropped off Jordie at the airport, hurried to school for the parent teacher meetings and went back to the airport in the evening to pick up Karsten, a friend from Germany, who came to visit me for one week.

There are only two more things/tips, that I don’t want to keep from you:

1) The other day Anh, one of my Vietnamese friends, showed me a quite romantic spot with an amazing view. Of course I had to take Jordie there. If you wanna check it out, have a look on the map how to get there.

20141005_180927

2) We also went to a restaurant that I haven’t been to before. It’s called Thien Duyen Ben Thanh. I think it’s just another one of the endless com chay places that you can find nearly everywhere in Vietnam. But one thing made it stand out: The chicken pho.

We were close to Ben Thanh market and hungry so I took out my phone and checked the happy cow app for a restaurant near by. This restaurant is listed as vegan and their own advertisement says “chay” and “vegetarian”. So my head says they don’t serve meat. But my eyes and my taste buds say something different (not that I can remember how chicken tastes but I’ve never had seitan or tofu that looked so genuine and tasted so different to everything else).

20141020_180021

It looked and tasted so real, it was almost scary. But I’ve asked a few times if it really was vegetarian and also the “meat” in the other dishes looked just like the mock meat you usually get. So I’m hoping that it was just a specially good imitation and that maybe the fact that it was in a soup contributed to the authentic look and taste.

Leave a comment